photo of book cover

Click here to order

 

Independent Publisher Book Awards

Independent Publisher
Book Awards

Bronze Medal Winner
2010

 

Living Now Book Awards

Living Now Book Awards
Silver Medal Winner
2010

 

ForeWord Reviews

ForeWord Review's
Book of the Year Awards

Bronze Medal Winner
2010

 

BAIPA

BAIPA Book Awards
Best Cookbook
2011

 

BAIPA

Eric Hoffer Book Award
First Runner-Up
2011

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Reviews

“Brava Elisabeth! I haven’t seen a book this well researched in a long time! Not only is this cookbook about the delicious food of Friuli but it also encompasses the nature of the people, the geography, and the rich history of a great land. My only quandary...Should I book a flight to Friuli right away or run into the kitchen to cook!”
Joanne Weir, host of public television’s Joanne Weir’s Cooking Class and author of Wine Country Cooking and From Tapas to Meze: Small Plates from the Mediterranean

“This is way more than a cookbook—it is a travel book, a history book, and an homage to one of Italy’s least well-known regions. Elisabeth has collected very workable recipes from home cooks in small villages and from beloved local restaurants. You too can capture the flavors of Friuli at home and add some new, delicious dishes to your Italian culinary repertoire.”
Joyce Goldstein, author of Italian Slow and Savory and Enoteca: Simple, Delicious Recipes in the Italian Wine Bar Tradition

Flavors of Friuli, Elisabeth Antoine Crawford, Equilibrio - Friuli, the northeast section of Italy, a land diverse in history, food and ethnicity, is influenced by multiple countries and distinct regions. Friuli is home to a southern coastline, rich in seafood, mountains to the north and hills and plains in its central region. Little known to many, this region of Italy has much to boast about including, its prosciutto and frico. By chance, the author stumbled upon this region while on a business trip and fell in love with the people and their cuisine, which is influenced by Austrian, Slavic and Venetian cultures. She has found a way capture the essence of Friuli through photos, recipes and a delightful account of its history. While I anticipated reading an Italian cookbook, I was happily surprised to be given so much more, from the author. Please do not get me wrong, some of the book's recipes, which are separated by region, are outstanding, such as Pasta Filled with Dried Fruit and Ricotta, Duck Breasts with Berry Sauce, and Crepes with Apricot Jam. Whether you are interested in exploring a part of Italy off the beaten path or simply wish to find some out of the ordinary Italian recipes, this book is well worth discovering.”
Eric Hoffer Award judge, theUSreview.com

Flavors of Friuli is a gem! It is filled with gorgeous photos of the places and the dishes, eighty traditional recipes, that explore the region’s history and intermingling of cultures that contributed to a fusion of taste delights. You can be a tourist without ever leaving home, visiting food festivals, favorite local restaurants, and local sites. More than 450 photographs grace this tour of its wine country and dramatic Adriatic coastline with cities that include Trieste and Udine. There’s just one word for this cookbook, fabulous!”
Alan Caruba, Bookviews.com, May 1, 2010

“It's no culinary secret that Italy is home to some of the world's finest cuisine. It is also widely recognized by professional chefs and Italian housewives that there are fundamental distinctions in the cuisines of the various regions that comprise this nation of dedicated food enthusiasts. That's why Flavors of Friuli: A Culinary Journey through Northeastern Italy by Elisabeth Antoine Crawford (who spent five years researching, traveling, recipe-testing, and photographing this very special and specialized cuisine) is such a joy to browse through and inspiring to prepare memorably authentic dishes with. From Orzotto ai Funghi (Barley with Mushrooms); to Toc de Purcit (Carnian Pork Stew); to Crostata alla Marmellata (Mixed Berry Jam Tart); to Minestra di Bobici (Corn and Bean Soup); to Stinco di Vitello (Braised Veal Shank), Flavors of Friuli truly lives up to its title. Profusely and beautifully illustrated throughout, Flavors of Friuli showcases the history and communities whose culinary heritages are represented, making it an informative pleasure to simply browse through. Simply stated, if a personal or community library's cookbook acquisition budget is limited, be sure to include adding a copy of Flavors of Friuli to the ethnic and regional cookbook collection - family and patrons alike will truly appreciate it!”
Midwest Book Review: Small Press Bookwatch, May 2010

“In Flavors of Friuli, Elisabeth Antoine Crawford not only provides us delicious recipes from various areas of Friuli, but she provides us with a useful lesson of the history of the area and culture as well. The beautiful photography throughout the book complements the text and makes this one of those cookbooks that you will read from cover to cover. I recommend Flavors of Friuli to anyone who is looking for a beautiful cookbook with authentic recipes from Italy.”
Kam Aures, RebeccasReads.com, May 2010

“Author Elisabeth Antoine Crawford fell in love with Friuli in northeastern Italy, with its people and their genuine hospitality but especially with its cuisine. She had been drawn to Italy as a child, even before setting foot in the country.
“Then, over the years, she kept returning to Friuli, sampling its food, collecting cookbooks, interviewing chefs and talking to the people. She admits that, given her love of Italy, her friends were surprised that she was so drawn to Friuli, considered to be the most un-Italian part of the country.
“She explains that perhaps it was the fusion of many cultures that appealed to her most, with a mixture of Venetian, Austro-Hungarian and Slavic influences that helped to create a distinctive culture and cuisine.
“Full of mouthwatering recipes (from buckwheat pasta and pasta filled with chocolate and nuts to bean and sauerkraut soup and Hungarian-style beef stew) and color photographs, Crawford's book also offers portraits of the land and its people, its architecture and its festivals. An interesting detail: Italy's world-famous coffee company, Illy, was founded in 1933 by Hungarian native Francesco Illy, who went to Trieste during as an officer in the Austro-Hungarian army, stayed and opened a cafe.”
June Sawyers, Chicago Tribune, July 6, 2010
(reprinted Denver Post, August 15, 2010)

“Another compelling culinary read, packaged in cookbook clothing, is Flavors of Friuli: A Culinary Journey through Northeastern Italy (Equilibrio, 978-0-9703716-1-4) by Elisabeth Antoine Crawford, a San Francisco writer and former professional dancer. Friuli-Venezia Giulia cuisine boasts a potpourri of influences including Roman, Venetian, Slavic, and Austro-Hungarian, and even hints of the Far East due to its proximity to trade routes. Flavors of Friuli includes 450 photos, eighty recipes, and wonderful side trips to quaint villages, food festivals, restaurants, cheesemakers, and pasticcerias. Wine lovers entranced by Friuli’s food should seek out the region’s clean, fresh, fruity white wines.”
ForeWord Reviews, July/August 2010

“Little did I know when I picked up Elisabeth Antoine Crawford’s Flavors of Friuli that I’d be taking a mini-vacation in the middle of my summer break. Crawford’s beautifully photographed book is more than just a guide to cooking in the tradition of northeastern Italy. It’s a history and travel guide for the region. Divided into sections in line with the three main areas of this so-called 'un-Italian' portion of Italy, the book offers a wide variety of recipes including hearty meats, delicate fishes, simple gnocchi and indulgent desserts. Each is inspired by the Austrian, Slavic, or Italian influences that make the region unique.
“The author’s passion for this special place comes through even in the recipes themselves. Crawford takes instructions from chefs and books she discovered in her travels, sometimes needing to guess measurements and proportions along the way. Her diligence and time in preparing for the book have paid off as her directions are manageable for most home-cooks. The minimal ingredients allow the delicious flavors to stand on their own.
“I tried a few of the recipes myself, beginning with the Insalata di Pere a Montasio (Pear and Montasio Salad). I was surprised to discover that the ingredients did not call for vinegar, but upon my first bite, I sensed that the outstanding flavors of this salad are in the arugula, pear, walnuts and cheese, not in the dressing. I also enjoyed the Liptauer (Austrian Style Cheese Spread), a tangy dip that took very little time to prepare and would make a delicious appetizer for company. A simple mix of gorgonzola and ricotta lightly flavored with mustard, capers, chives and parsley, the spread did not last long on our table.
“Another reason that home-cooks will find Flavors of Friuli so enjoyable is Crawford’s frequent recommendations for additions and substitutions to her recipes. She acknowledges that some ingredients, especially the cheeses unique to the region, may be difficult to find in the United States. Therefore, she offers alternatives that are more readily available. In the Cavucin (Butternut Squash Purée), I was able to use pumpkins from my garden in place of butternut squash and ricotta salata in place of ricotta affumatica. The simple instructions will make most cooks feel comfortable improvising and experimenting.
“At the end of the book, Crawford offers suggestions of restaurants, festivals, producers, museums and other sights for the prospective traveler. However, I look forward to even more evenings this summer at home at my own Friuli table.
Kerri Schuster, Small Press Reviews, August 15, 2010

“In Flavors of Friuli: A Culinary Journey through Northeastern Italy (Equilibrio 2010), Elisabeth Antoine Crawford has compiled 80 of this little region’s traditional recipes including Montasio Cheese Crisps, Cinnamon-Laced Ravioli, and Plum-Filled Gnocchi. Hidden from the tourist mobs in Italy’s northeast corner, Friuli-Venezia Giulia boasts one of the country’s most distinctive regional cuisines. With influences from Austria, Hungary, and Slovenia, the Friulian people cleverly merge humble, local ingredients with exotic spices, resulting in a cuisine that never ceases to delight the palate. With inspiring photography, the book is divided into chapters that take you through the Carnia Mountains in northern Friuli, the hills and plains in central Friuli, and the Adriatic Coast in southern Friuli. Each regional section includes recipes from antipasti to dessert and narrative that guides you through the notable features of the area. If you’re a fan of Friuli, Crawford’s book lets you bring it home and cook it up.”
Tastes of Italia Magazine, August 2010

“The independently-published Flavors of Friuli: A Culinary Journey through Northeastern Italy (Equilibrio, $29.95) is one of those projects I hate to call 'a labor of love' because it ends up sounding patronizing, as if the book would have been better if the author cared less about it. No; Flavors of Friuli struck me as both an unlikely and an amazing book, one I came upon by accident while browsing the cookbook section at Frugal Muse in the Northgate Shopping Center. (A place, by the way, where I very often find something quirky and amazing.)
“The 2009 title is Crawford's first cookbook -- her previous book was a pilates handbook. But while traveling in Italy on pilates business, she discovered the hybrid cuisine of extreme northeastern Italy and became obsessed. In a good way. Friuli, as Crawford notes in the preface, is 'one of the country's most un-Italian regions,' with many Austrian and Hungarian culinary influences.
“She 'scoured restaurant menus for local dishes and practically ate my way through the region.' She collected Italian-language cookbooks and wrangled recipes from home cooks and chefs. The book is part travel guide, part history, and part guide to Friuli's 'unique fusion of cuisines,' with a large number of recipes.
“And the book is beautiful, packed with color photos of scenery, historic sites, and food. That said, the photography, while enjoyable, does show that professional photographers really do know what they're doing as opposed to the rest of us. Crawford shot almost all the images in the book herself, and there are some, especially indoor shots taken with a flash, where a professional's work was called for. But somehow, those missteps only underline the earnest enthusiasm of this book and makes in no less absorbing. If Friuli wasn't on your life list of places to visit when you started, it's going to be.
“Discover traditional regional fare like pitina, a kind of smoked meatball/sausage from northern Pordenone province, made from a mix of mutton, pork, beef and goat and rolled in cornmeal before the smoking. Or brovada, turnip pickled in grape marc (what remains of a grape after it is pressed). Salame all'Aceto, sometimes made with pitina or with regular salami, is also cooked in vinegar, with onions.
“Polenta is the typical side in Friulian cuisine, and find it here in its typical form as well as in balote, polenta balls filled with a mix of cream and ricotta cheese (or the traditional Italian cheese Asino); and paparot, a spinach and cornmeal soup.
“While Friulian cuisine arose in part out of poverty and scarcity, there's no shortage of temptation as Crawford lays it out before the reader in a vast repast. This is one cookbook you could have a lot of fun reading without ever picking up a pot or a spoon.”
Linda Falkenstein, The Daily Page, October 13, 2010

“One of the things that’s so amazing about Italian cookery is that it really does seem infinitely variable. After all, one would think, how many Italian cookbooks do we actually need in the English language? Yet -- with obvious exceptions -- we see book after wonderful book that exposes us to a new, lesser explored wrinkle that opens a new culinary journey for non-Italian cooks.
Flavors of Friuli: A Culinary Journey through Northeastern Italy (Equilibrio) is a good example. Because it explores the food of a very specific and off-the-beaten track piece of real estate in Northeastern Italy. From the introduction: 'Tucked away between mountains and sea in Italy’s extreme northeast corner, Friuli-Venezia Giulia is a veritable melting pot of cultures. Today, the only clear boundary lines are political: those that separate Italy from the neighboring countries of Austria and Slovenia, those that mark the boundaries between Friuli-Venezia Giulia and Italy’s Veneto region, and those that delineate Friuli’s four provinces: Trieste, Udine, Gorizia, and Pordenone.'
“As a result, the food of the region reflects just about all of the factors you might expect. Imagine, gnocchi stuffed with prosciutto and cheese; pork stew with pancetta and cinnamon; cheese-filled polenta balls and hearty bean and vegetable soups remarkable for their use of local ingredients.
“Though Flavors of Friuli is definitely a cookbook, as much as that it is a tourbook: a gentle yet thorough introduction to a region not as well known as so many others in this country that has been remarked on for wonderful food for centuries.”
Aaron Blanton, January Magazine, October 30, 2010

“Elisabeth Antoine Crawford, an Athens, Ga., native, recounts her journey through a unique corner of Italy in Flavors of Friuli: A Culinary Journey through Northeastern Italy (Equilibrio, released 2010). Not just another spaghetti book, this colorful travel guide-meets-cookbook delves into Friuli’s traditional dishes like cinnamon-laced ravioli and Montasio cheese crisps. Its 450 photographs explore three of the region’s areas and their respective villages, including their mouthwatering food festivals and local restaurants.”
Flavors Magazine, Winter 2010

“My wife and I had the privilege of reading an amazing book that showcased the region where my parents were born in Italy – Friuli Venezia Giulia.
“The recipes were outstanding and Elisabeth nailed the history and captured the unique culture of the region. The province has an amazing history and my wife and I tried a couple of recipes. The author was so dedicated to this project – she spent over 5 years creating this amazing resource.
“I found that the book did an amazing job of showcasing all distinct geographical areas – some areas with a greater emphasis on seafood and meat or figs.
“Finally, one of my all-time favourites of my mom's is crostata. I would compare it to a shortbread with a nice lattice top and fresh jam on top. We used raspberry jam.
“Elisabeth has all the recipes in English but has the original name in Italian and provides a brief history for each recipe.
“This book is a must have for any descendents of this region. We need to keep these recipes going because we will not be able to order polenta or delicious frico or gubana at our local restaurants.”
Steven Zussino, Grocery Alerts Canada, March 17, 2011

Flavors of Friuli by Elisabeth Antoine Crawford has received nothing but five-star reviews and I can see why.  It is a whole lot more than a cookbook of foods from Northeastern Italy.  Ms. Crawford divides the book into the three geographic regions of Friuli: northern (Carnia Mountains), central (Hills and Plains), and Southern (Adriatic Coast).  Each of those sections is then divided into these recipe sections: antipasti, primi, secondi, contorni, and dolci. Be sure to read the preface of the book to find out why Ms. Crawford chose this region of Italy and just what her experiences were while she was there.  It is a very interesting story to read.  The book begins with a quick geography “lesson” followed up by some history.
“Then Ms. Crawford takes you to each region in Friuli with wonderful descriptions and beautiful photographs.  Not knowing Italian, I appreciated the translated names of the recipes which are provided.  Each recipe has a paragraph of introduction and interesting facts.  The recipes are set up well and easy to understand and follow with each one getting its own page with an accompanying full-page amazing photograph. I own many cookbooks and cooking magazines, but Flavors of Friuli is simply amazing.  Anyone interested in travel, Italy, and/or Italian cooking will find this a wonderful addition to their library…and for those wanting to test out these recipes you will be kept busy for a long while.  It is very easy to flip through the book and when a food photo catches your attention, choose that recipe to make!  It would be a challenge for someone to look through Flavors of Friuli and not find their mouth begin to water.  Congratulations, Ms. Crawford, for an excellent job of producing your culinary journey.”
Joyce Gilmour, Editing TLC

Flavors of Friuli is so much more than a cookbook. It’s also a gorgeous travel book that takes you through the Friuli region in Northeastern Italy. The Friuli region is located between mountains and sea in Italy’s extreme northeast corner. There are three distinct geographical regions: Northern Mountains, Central Hills and Plains, and Southern Coastline.
“The Introduction gives a short history of Friuli and its various geographic regions and includes the most spectacular pictures of churches, ruins, castles and scenery. Each section of Friuli is discussed in depth from its weather to its geography to the foods it is most known for. I just cannot describe how gorgeous the many color photographs are in this book. There are literally photos on almost every page!
“The recipe section is broken down into Northern Friuli, Central Friuli, and Southern Friuli. Each region of Friuli is broken down into recipes for Antipasti, Primi (first course), Secondi (main dishes), Contorni (side dishes), and Dolci (desserts). Each recipe section has pages full of scenic attractions, festivals, and sights along with tons of photographs and information.
“The recipes themselves have a brief introduction or history, an ingredients list and detailed instructions along with gorgeous color photographs. The recipes are rather in-depth although there are quite a few simple ones as well.  Being Italian, some of them require the use of a pasta maker to make your own dough for pasta.
“This is a truly spectacular cookbook with recipes and photographs that will really make you feel like you stepped into the Friuli region in northern Italy.  I cannot wait to try the Torta di Mele, which is a rustic apple cake from Northern Friuli!”
Ellen Christian, Confessions of an Overworked Mom

“I’ve longed to travel through the region of Friuli-Venezia Giulia. But the closest I’ve come is wandering through the seductive Flavors of Friuli: A Culinary Journey through Northeastern Italy by Elisabeth Antoine Crawford.
“For that day when I do travel to the region, I hope Crawford will have created an app. Otherwise, I’ll be forced to lug her three-pound, 368-page tome with me. It’s an exhaustively researched guide to the mountains, meadows, vineyards, and coasts, all with their own distinctive foods, wines, architecture, museums, attractions, and festivals.
“Most Italian regions don’t border anything other than other Italian regions or the sea but not Friuli Venezia-Giulia. It juts north and east of the peninsula. It’s bordered by the Veneto to the west, Austria to the north, The Republic of Slovenia to the east, and the Adriatic Sea to the south. Romans, Venetians, Austro-Hungarians, and Slavs have all ruled this territory over the centuries. Parts of the region weren’t incorporated into the Republic of Italy until after World War I and the cosmopolitan city of Trieste not until 1954.
“Middle European influences abound in dishes such as sauerkraut, buckwheat pasta, liptauer, goulasch, and torta Dobos. Yet, the region also produces foods that are recognized around the world as quintessentially Italian: prosciutto di San Daniele, Montasio cheese, and Illy caffè.
“Crawford, a former dancer and Pilates instructor, admits that many were puzzled when she chose Friuli as a research subject. 'Friends who appreciate my passion for Italy have found it strange that I have been drawn to one of the country’s most un-Italian regions,' Crawford writes in her introduction.
“'My answer is that possibly this is what intrigues me the most—the fact that it is so distinctive. For the same reason, I am drawn to fusion cuisine at home in San Francisco. Dishes that run the gamut from mildly unusual to outlandishly bizarre are simply more interesting to me.'
“Perhaps no dish typifies this exoticism better than the stuffed pasta called cjalsòns. 'In every lush valley of the Carnia mountains, each cook prepares his or her own unique recipe, merging herbs and spices and creating a distinct shape and form for the dough,' Crawford writes.
“'While there are generally two varieties—sweet and savory—the flavors often tend to overlap. The sweet cjalsòns may be filled with apples, pears, crushed biscotti, dried fruit, nuts, chocolate, and spices, but often contain savory herbs such as parsley, basil, and marjoram. Likewise, the savory cjalsòns have undertones of sweetness, combining such unlikely ingredients as potatoes, raisins, onions, cocoa, spinach, jam, and cheese. Both sweet and savory cjalsòns are served in melted butter and are typically topped with ricotta affumicata [smoked ricotta cheese] and a sprinkle of sugar and cinnamon.'
“Nutmeg, cloves, saffron, cumin, caraway seeds, poppy seeds, and other seasonings are the legacy of the cramârs, Carnian peddlers who traveled throughout central Europe and brought home their wares to be integrated into the local style of cooking.
“It was difficult to imagine how cjalsòns wouldtaste so I made the recipe for Cjalsòns di Treppo Carnico that follows. Each bite of these airy pillows was a harmony of complex sweet and savory notes.
“Next up, I prepared Cevapcici, fresh mixed meat sausages seasoned with garlic, paprika, black pepper, and cayenne. The accompanying Ajvar sauce will become a staple condiment in my repertoire. Prepared simply from roasted red bell pepper and eggplant that are pureed with olive oil, red wine vinegar, sugar, and cayenne pepper, it is a a magical condiment.
“As I said, my exploration of Friuli is just beginning. With Crawford as my guide, I know fascinating destinations and intriguing flavors lie ahead.”
Sharon Sanders, Simple Italy